first ever vegan cupcakes

February 22, 2010 at 5:10 am (desserts, russian, vegan)

it seems like baking cupcakes is a rite of passage for vegans. and I wasn’t going to pass that up. all I ever do is cook things that are healthy and low-fat and I felt like I needed to give myself a break, so I went all out and decided to make these. oh man, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. 4.5 cups of sugar in JUST the frosting, aaahhhhh! but it was so worth it. they were DELICIOUS. better than any non-vegan cupcake I’ve had, that’s for sure. and honestly, after putting them through a recipe calculator, they were not as ridiculously bad as I expected:

per serving with frosting (makes about 20 cupcakes):

  • calories: 364
  • fat: 15g
  • cholesterol: 15mg
  • sodium: 233mg
  • potassium: 141mg
  • carbs: 57g
  • sugar: 16g
  • protein: 4g

three definitely gave me a pretty good sugar rush. and I’m sure I’ll be regretting eating so many tomorrow when I wake up all gross and bloated. but in my defense, the rest of my day was spent eating fairly well. I had dinner with my grandparents and much to my surprise they catered to my new vegan ways and gave me tons of delicious Russian food to choose from! they made baked potatoes, a cucumber and tomato salad, peppers in a really interested vinaigrette, a pickle and squash medley, and pumpernickel bread. not pictured were potato dumplings and a spicy eggplant spread. I’ll be asking for recipes for everything so I’ll be posting more about all that later. I was pretty surprised how easy it is to veganize Russian food!

1 Comment

  1. Michal said,

    Yum your cupcakes looks great, even though they arent the healthiest. But that being said life should allow little indulgences… like nom worthy vegan cupcakes :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

