ready to rawmble!

February 1, 2010 at 5:20 am (raw)

(the puns just keep getting worse. I’m sorry. can’t promise I’ll stop, though.)

lately I’ve fallen off the wagon, so to speak. I’ve been eating poorly and far too often and I’m really starting to feel the consequences. today at work I had three Red Bulls on top of two cups of coffee. that’s a little overboard. a lot overboard actually. so I’m going to put myself through a raw detox for about a week starting this upcoming Sunday. this is what I’ll mostly be consuming:

-salads salads salads saladssss
-vegetables (avocados, broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, cabbage, spinach, spaghetti squash)
-fruits (apples, bananas, clementines, grapes, watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew melons, kiwis)
-sprouts
-nuts and seeds
-flavor enhancers (ginger, garlic, lemon/lime juice)

I’ve seen some raw blogs and recipes talk about using salt and various oils but I’m going to try to avoid them. however, I’ll still drink caffeine-free herbal tea because I don’t really see why it would be detrimental.

I went grocery shopping in preparation today and here’s what my kitchen looks like now:

apples, bananas, and clementines!

strawberries (from the Plaza Theate farmers' market), spaghetti squash, alfalfa sprouts, and bean sprouts!

carrots, cantaloupe, tomatoes, cucumbers, salad greens, spinach, broccoli, and a big ol' hunk of celery.

and then I decided to get adventurous and try Super Cookies.

the verdict: definitely would not define them as cookies, but they’re great for snacks. if anything, they’re more like chips. but I’m not about to denounce a food based on semantics, so Super Cookies get a thumbs up for me. although I’d much prefer if they were cheaper. (I’m looking at you, Whole Foods.)

Leave a Reply

