rainbow cupcakes with avocado buttercream frosting

February 24, 2010 at 6:56 pm (desserts, recipe, vegan)


my friend Christine’s 21st birthday is today, and if you knew her, you would know immediately why these cupcakes epitomize her to a T. I used a couple different recipes and made a few alterations, so I’ll just re-post everything here.

Rainbow Cupcakes
ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup + 1 – 2 tbsp white granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 3 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • food coloring of choice

directions:

  • preheat oven to 375 degrees and line your cupcake pan with liners or grease with non-stick spray.
  • combine flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.
  • in a separate (small) bowl, combine water, canola oil, and vanilla.
  • add the ingredients in the small bowl to the dry ingredients in the big bowl gradually, whisking everything together while doing so.
  • once combined, add lemon juice and stir together well.
  • separate batter into different bowls, one for each color you plan on using. I had five colors, and the batter makes about five cups so I put a cup in each bowl.
  • squeeze about 1 – 2 teaspoons of food coloring into each bowl and whisk together until combined.
  • pour the batter into the cupcake pan, one color at a time. I used a tablespoon to measure it out.
  • bake for about 20 minutes, then let cool on a wire rack.
  • makes 12 generously-sized cupcakes.

Avocado Buttercream Frosting
from Alton Brown (aka my hero)

ingredients:

  • 2 pitted and peeled avocados
  • 1 pound powdered confectioner’s sugar (yeah.. I know. it pains me to write this, and pained me even more to make it. but it tastes damn good.)
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp lemon OR vanilla extract

directions:

  • chop and mash avocados in a large bowl so they’re easier to mix. I used a potato masher.
  • add lemon juice and whisk together until smooth and light green.
  • gradually add sugar, about 1/2 a cup at a time and mix until you reach a light and smooth consistency.
  • add extract and combine until mixed together.
  • the frosting is going to be a lot more like an icing, it was kind of difficult for me to frost the cupcakes without it melting all over the place. so I would suggest putting it in the refrigerator until it’s a little more solid to make it easier to decorate.

now, I’m not even going to bother with the nutritional information for these because it’s not pretty. these are so not even close to being good for you, but they’re delicious and perfectly acceptable for a special occasion like someone’s birthday. all you have to know is that there’s over 600 calories per cupcake. yup. these WILL give you a sugar high like no other. I ate two and went out dancing later and they fueled my whole night. good times!

patiently awaiting the birthday girl's arrival.

also, in unrelated news this morning I was surprised with a couple fantastic packages on my doorstep!!

Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen and Vegan Express were bought from a member on the Post Punk Kitchen forums and Supermarket Vegan and Veganomicon were bought from Amazon. these are my first completely vegan cookbooks and I am stoooooked to use them. :>

3 Comments

  1. Mandee said,

    Awesome rainbow cupcakes!

  2. Michal said,

    I love these.
    End of story. 🙂

  3. hayleylujah said,

    Those are super cute! I’m going to have to find an excuse to make these sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

