wrappin’ and a-rollin’

April 13, 2010 at 9:29 pm (Uncategorized)

lately I’ve been getting really into making wraps. and why not, right? they’re a fun, easy way to get a bunch of delicious good stuff in a snack or a side dish. here’s some I’ve made recently:

first and foremost, I make a spicy mayo to spread on the tortilla, which consists of two of my favorite things:

I don’t really make precise measurements when I mix, I’d say it’s usually about a tablespoon of the vegenaise to a teaspoon of the sriracha, but you can play around with it according to your preferences.


a grilled spinach and tomato wrap I made with the little George Foreman I have.



spicy mayo, zucchini, radish, and alfalfa sprouts wrap which I also grilled later and brought on a beach trip with me.


just good ol’ cucumber and sprouts. because there’s nothing wrong with simplicity!


my very first summer rolls! these were a lot easier to make than I expected. I learned how to prepare them here. I didn’t go with the traditional rice noodle method since I didn’t have any on hand, so instead I just used whatever random vegetables I had lying around, which included: sprouts, cucumbers, zucchini, bell peppers, and carrots. I actually think I prefer sprouts to rice noodles so I’ll probably just be making all my summer rolls with those from now on.

the weather down here has been so fantastic lately. definitely tons of perfect days for bike rides and picnics and walks in the park and all that good stuff. I even got myself a cute dress to commemorate the beginning of spring and the end of the miserable cold spell we’ve been having. I’ve also been slowly but surely gathering supplies to begin working on a garden. I’ve got a couple potted plants growing, but I’ve bean meaning to clear out our garden beds for zucchini, carrots, and maybe even a watermelon or two. although sometimes when I wake up and look outside, all my motivation to be productive is replaced with an unquenchable desire to lay out on in the backyard and tan.

Leave a Reply

